Skip to main content

Banner News

2020 Gaston County MLK Unity Award nominations

2019 Gaston County MLK Unity Award Honorees from left: Donyel Barber, Coach Larry Rhodes and Dr. Will Current. Gaston Together photo

The Gaston Clergy & Citizens Coalition (GC3), an initiative of Gaston Together, will present the 2020 Gaston County MLK Unity Awards on Monday, January 20th, the MLK national holiday.    The event will be held at 10:30 am at the MLK Plaza.  The Plaza is located on the corner of MLK Avenue/ Marietta St. and Long Ave. in downtown Gastonia.

The Gaston County MLK Unity Award was established in 2004 by the GC3.  The award recognizes current or former Gaston County citizens who have performed exemplary community service to help build bridges of unity across lines of race, class, gender, faith and/or among municipalities within our county.  Names of the honorees are engraved on the MLK Monument located at the Plaza.  Past winners include notable community members such as Senator Marshall Rauch, N. A. Smith, Mildred Sadler, the 1964 Gastonia Human Relations Committee, Rev. Houston Matthews, TJ Solomon, Danny Jackson, Sam Shoukry  and the Honorable Rev. Dr. Richard Boyce to name a few.

To get the nomination form and award criteria, contact Gaston Together at [email protected]  Completed nomination forms must be received no later than 5pm on November 1st.  The selection committee composed of former MLK Unity Award Honorees will determine the 2020 recipients.  The award recipients will be notified in mid-late December.

The GC3 is a county-wide, non-denominational ministerial association formed in the late 1990’s by Gaston Together.  The GC3 meets on the second Thursday of each month at 9:00am at First United Methodist Church Family Life Center, Gastonia.  For more information, please call Gaston Together (704-867-9869.)

Founded in 1997, Gaston Together’s mission is to create a Community of Excellence by bringing people and resources of Gaston County together to address Big Community Challenges.  The purpose is implemented through the principles and best practices of collaboration, facilitation, promotion and the anticipation of possibilities.  Current focus areas are Community Pride Building programs, Faith-Based Leadership, Civic Engagement Leadership and Creating a Culture of Wellness.  David Fogarty is serving as the 2019 Board Chair.