Skip to main content

Banner News

Gaston EMS celebrated ‘EMS Week 2020’

Paramedic Trevor Gosselin receives his recognition for Outstanding Rescue Preparedness from Acting Captain Melanie Massagee.

May 17-23, was the 46th anniversary of National Emergency Management Services or EMS Week. As the coronavirus health crisis continues to unfold, our country and the world are bearing witness to the remarkable dedication, commitment to service and courage of EMS practitioners.

The theme for EMS Week 2020 was “Ready Today, Preparing for Tomorrow.”  Although this theme was selected well before the current pandemic, it is particularly relevant to how your local EMS professionals have stepped up to the many challenges presented to them in these trying times. Everyone owes a great debt of gratitude to all of the Paramedics and EMTs who are serving on the front lines of the COVID-19 response while still responding to and meeting the needs of everyday emergencies that arise. 

Because of the impact of COVID-19, Gaston County EMS was unable recognize its men and women with the usual EMS Week festivities. However, Gaston Coumty EMS did recognize the efforts and contributions that specific team members have made to the agency throughout the last year. Employees are selected for these particular recognitions through a peer-nomination process. GEMS presented the following employees with recognition.

Outstanding part-time employees – Lynn Drum and Saraina Hurley

Outstanding rookie – Rebecca Shaffer, Madison Ballard and Christopher McLaughlin

Outstanding Paramedic –Courtney Johnson, Justin Greer, and Caleb Robinson

Outstanding EMT – EMT Andrew Molby, Bridgett Wilkinson, Allison Langley, Bridget Robinson

Outstanding Customer Service – Mark Hines, Kristina Monk, Steven Wall

Outstanding Clinical Preparedness – Robert Paul, and Andrew Adams

Outstanding Rescue Preparedness – Trevor Gosselin

Outstanding Public Educator – Tia Slone and Lanny Bivens

Outstanding Training and Staff Development – Chris Marlowe

Outstanding Mentor – Hannah Orr

Outstanding Field Training Officer – Kelly Marlowe

Outstanding Mentor – Brendon Axe